Fifty Years In

 

 

In fifty years of living this life

I have seen things come and go

and live and die.

To record all the changes that my eyes have seen

would take a day or two maybe even a week.

I’d like to give it a try.

I have seen roller skates morph into roller blades

and skateboards into hover-boards.

I have seen black and white TV go to colour to video to DVD to –

I don’t even know what they have now.

I had the first television integrated game console –

I was lucky and had an Atari and an Intelevision.

I remember the squeaky little noises of the dragon in the orange and black primitive graphic.

I was just as addicted as any kid today

Although I would never admit it.

I remember when microwaves came on the scene.

I remember my shock at finding out my grandmother used a bread machine.

In fifty years I have traveled the world,

given birth to babies,

been a mother to many,

married, divorced, married.

I have seen people die and I have seen people born.

I have met hungry people, greedy people,

poor people, rich people and everyone in between.

In fifty years I have discovered what I can do – my creativity.

My super powers.

We all have them.

I know in my heart that

the way I relate to this world

is not at all like other people.

At fifty I am OK with this.

At fifty I am OK with a lot of things

I may have not been OK with ten or twenty years ago.

I am OK with the lines on my face.

I like them.

I have earned each sun drenched map

Of the places I have been

They remind me of who I am.

And who I am not.

I like the softening of my body,

how everything seems to fall into place

and I like the smile on his face

When I am naked.

At fifty I am peaceful now

not always searching.

Not always looking to the past

for causes of hurting.

At fifty I can look at myself from the inside out –

not only through a mirror on a wall,

and like what I see.

At fifty my eyes have softened

And I can sit back and watch the geese take their flight

to warmer places through a darkening sky

and wait for their return

because in a half century if we learn nothing else

it is that everything that passes

turns into something even more beautiful.

Image result for flying geese

One thought on “Fifty Years In

Please leave your thoughts and feedback

